American Solar Energy Society Announces 2024 Awards to Celebrate Generations of Solar Energy Achievements

American Solar Energy Society Announces 2024 Awards to Celebrate Generations of Solar Energy Achievements

BOULDER, Colorado., July 10, 2024 /PRNewswire/ — This year, the American Solar Energy Society (ASES) celebrates its 70th anniversary by honoring the vision and perseverance of solar professionals and citizen activists across the spectrum of solar research and development, business innovation, codes and standards, policy and public service. In 2024, accordingly, ASES Awards and Scholarships Program honored individuals who also spanned multiple solar specialties and many decades of service. Awards were given 21th May at the ASES National Solar Energy Conference Washington.

Among them was the Postgraduate Academic Achievement Award presented to Remilekun Akinwonmi, a Nigerian-born postgraduate student in mechanical engineering at University of Colorado, Boulderfor the Solar Business Innovation Leadership Award, presented to Dr. Fred Morse. Morse began his solar career in the 1960s and directed solar programs for the Department of Energy and the White House under several U.S. presidents before focusing on the private sector. He led the implementation of centralized solar power (CSP) technology for Agengoa Solar Inc. and chaired the Utility-Scale Solar Power Division of the Solar Energy Industries Association. The ASES Board of Directors also recognized Morse this year with a special Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The ASES Awards Program is a powerful reminder of the incredible talent and dedication within the solar community. Celebrating our winners and inductees not only honors their extraordinary achievements, but also inspires all of us to continue to drive innovation and commitment to a clean energy future,” he said. Jill CliburnChairman of the ASES Awards Committee and member of the Society.

Cliburn noted that each of this year’s winners has a remarkable story and that ASES has prepared biographies of all the award winners. available as a tribute and record of their contribution.

The 2024 ASES Award Winners and Fellows were officially recognized for their extraordinary contributions:

ASES 2024 Award Winners:

Persons accepted to the scholarship program in 2024:

  • Vikram Sam
  • Liz Merry
  • Robert Peña
  • Troy Peters
  • William Guiney
  • Jeff Lyng

The event highlighted the critical role of solar energy in combating climate change and promoting sustainable living. Join us for the 54th Annual National Solar Energy Conference August 4-6, 2025IN Boulder, Colorado! Find out more at for questions regarding ASES awards and scholarships, please contact us Jill Cliburn On (email protected).

About the American Solar Energy Association
With a rich history and commitment to advocacy, ASES continues to be at the forefront of renewable energy technology, workforce development, and community-based solar projects. With over 20,000 members, ASES remains the longest-running and leading solar advocacy organization in United StatesFor more information about ASES and its initiatives, please visit

SOURCE American Solar Energy Society